Happy Birthday Canada

Canada_150
Happy 150th Birthday Canada!

As an immigrant what can I say? Excited? Happy? Nothing? My family and I have been here only for 3 years and here are some things I am grateful about this country.

  1. I am grateful for the Child Benefit that we are getting. Where I came from we don’t have such thing. The child benefit helped us with the expenses especially pertaining to our kids.
  2. For the other benefits that we are getting from the government.
  3. I am grateful that Canada has so many provinces and hopefully one day my family and I would be able to explore it one by one, I need to add this to my bucket list.
  4. I am grateful for a wonderful public library. I love books;  I love to read thus when I saw the Toronto Public library I was so awed and the feeling was just amazing. You may check the Toronto Public Library website.
  5. I am grateful that you can return and exchange things so easily.  Manufacturers always abide by their warranty and replacing things as long its still in warranty is not a problem.
  6. I am grateful to able to see the Niagara Falls, WOW! MAGNIFICENT! All I can say this is a wonderful creation of God. Indeed it’s one of the 7 wonders of the World.
  7. I am grateful for being able to experience the 4 seasons. Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall and my favourite seasons is Summer and Fall.
  8. I am grateful for Canada, for welcoming us as an immigrant, for giving us  this opportunity that I know most of my “kababayans” ( fellowmen ) wanting to experience.
  9. I am grateful for the support of my husbands aunt and her family, without their support I don’t know if we would be able to make it thru. They have equipped us with knowledge about this country, things to start with and so much more.
  10. I am grateful for new friends that I met by bring my kids to school. They are fellow moms, guardians, dads who played a big role in our life already. I consider them my new family here in Canada and their support means a lot to us.
  11. I am grateful for old friends, who we have not talked for quite a long long time but when they knew that we are moving here lend their helping hand and supported us in our adjustments. Imagine, I have an elementary friend who I haven’t seen for almost 20 years and he was the one who referred my husband to work. And not to mention a co-worker’s husband who I haven’t seen for 10 years gave me a part-time work just so I can start having a Canadian work experience.
  12. I am grateful for Canada, for the wonderful parks they have. Spending quality time with my kids need not be expensive. In good weather days, we just go to the park and sit on the grass and enjoy.
  13. I am grateful for a good postal system. I am a fan of snail mail and finding a post office here is not hard. It’s everywhere so sending snail mail is a breeze.
  14. I am grateful for poutine, yummy poutine
  15. I am grateful for being able to learn French..i wish I can learn and be fluent with it but I am crossing my fingers my kids will be one day.
  16. I am grateful for good public transportation here, TTC, GO transit.
  17. I am grateful for a world-class Toronto Zoo.
  18. I am grateful for IKEA
  19. I am grateful for Costco
  20. I am grateful for Tim Hortons
  21. I am grateful for Dollarama, the Dollar Store
  22. I am grateful for the great museum Canada has
  23. Since Canada is a diverse country, I am grateful that I am able to try different dishes from different countries. Obviously… I love to eat.
  24. I am grateful for free vaccination for my kids
  25. I am grateful that we seldom experience traffic here… traffic is getting worse back home.
  26. I am grateful that Canada has wonderful internet connection. Communicating with my love ones via Viber, Messenger, Skype, Whatspp is easy.

For the past 3 years that we have been here, there are ups and downs but there are so many things to be thankful for. Thank you Canada for welcoming me and my family to your country.  Happy Birthday to you and more birthday’s to come.

**I will continue to update this blog with things I am grateful of

One thought on “Happy Birthday Canada

Leave a comment